Back to top

Award Honorees

Scales of Justice

  • 2016: Kelly McNamara Corley, Discover Financial Services
  • 2015: Brackett B. Denniston, General Electric
  • 2014: Thomas J. Sabatino Jr., Walgreen Co.
  • 2013: Cameron D. Findlay, Archer Daniels Midland Company
  • 2012: Randal S. Milch, Verizon
  • 2010: Teri Plummer McClure, UPS
  • 2009: D. Bruce Sewell, Intel Corporation (2004 - Sept. 2009), Apple Inc. (2009 - Present)
  • 2008: Senator George Mitchell, DLA Piper
  • 2007: Brad Smith, Microsoft Corporation
  • 2006: Benjamin W. Heineman Jr., General Electric Company
  • 2005: Roderick A. “Rick” Palmore, Sara Lee Corporation
  • 2004: Thomas A. Gottschalk, General Motors Corporation
  • 2003: Deval L. Patrick, The Coca-Cola Company
  • 2002: David R. Andrews, PepsiCo, Inc.
  • 2001: Charles F.C. Ruff, Covington & Burling (posthumously)
  • 2000: Eldon H. “Took” Crowell, Crowell & Moring LLP
    Center on Wrongful Convictions, Northwestern University School of Law
  • 1999: The Honorable Hillary Rodham Clinton, First Lady of the United States
  • 1998: Martha W. Barnett, Holland & Knight LLP
    Jennifer Gordon, The Workplace Project
  • 1997: Jamie S. Gorelick, Fannie Mae
    Paul Igasaki, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
  • 1996: Alexander D. Forger, Legal Services Corporation
    Bryan Stevenson, Alabama Equal Justice Initiative
  • 1995: The Honorable Abner J. Mikva, White House Counsel
    Antonia Hernandez, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund
    Kathleen Welch, Legal Services Corporation
  • 1994: Brooksley Born, Arnold & Porter LLP
    Clinton Lyons, National Legal Aid & Defender Association
  • 1993: Peter B. Edelman, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
    Marian Wright Edelman, Children’s Defense Fund


Equal Justice Works annually honors the outstanding public interest contributions of a law school dean, the work of a law school faculty or staff member dedicated to public interest law and the exemplary public service work of a law student or a law student group or project.

John R. Kramer Outstanding Law School Dean Award

Honoring a law school dean who has successfully demonstrated a commitment to building an institution that nurtures a spirit of public service.

  • 2010: Blake Morant, Wake Forest University School of Law
  • 2009: Larry Kramer, Stanford Law School
  • 2008: Elena Kagan, Harvard Law School
  • 2007: Karen Rothenberg, University of Maryland School of Law
  • 2006: Katharine Bartlett, Duke University School of Law
  • 2005: Gene R. Nichol, University of North Carolina School of Law
  • 2004: Harry J. Haynsworth, William Mitchell College of Law
  • 2003: Judith Areen, Georgetown University Law Center
  • 2002: Katherine "Shelley" Broderick, University of the District of Columbia-David A. Clarke School of Law
  • 2001: Rudolph Hasl, Seattle University School of Law
  • 2000: Claudio Grossman, American University Washington College of Law
  • 1999: Gregory H. Williams, The Ohio State University College of Law
  • 1998: Kristin Booth Glen, City University of New York School of Law at Queens College
  • 1997: David Hall, Northeastern University School of Law
  • 1996: John D. Feerick, Fordham University School of Law


Outstanding Law School Faculty or Staff Award

Recognizing a law school faculty or staff member for his or her outstanding support of the next generation of public interest lawyers. 

  • 2010: Karen V. Comstock, Cornell Law School
  • 2009: Patty Ferguson-Bohnee, Associate Clinical Professor of Law, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
  • 2008: Philip Schrag, Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center
  • 2007: Ilene Seidman, Clinical Professor of Law, Suffolk University Law School
  • 2006: Sudha Shetty, Director, Access to Justice Institute Seattle University School of Law
  • 2005: Marni B. Lennon, Director of H.O.P.E., University of Miami School of Law
  • 2004: Florence Wagman Roisman, Michael D. McCormick Professor of Law, Indiana University School of Law - Indianapolis


2017 Regional Public Interest Award

The Regional Public Interest Awards recognize exceptional work within the law school community by a law student or law student project. 

  • Natasha Johnson, 3L Regent University School of Law
  • Stefan Kolis, 3L University of Montana
  • Kristin Tellis, 3L Florida State University College of Law
  • Lilah Thompson, 3L Temple University Beasley School of Law
  • Lark Mulligan, 3L DePaul University College of Law
  • Morgan Moone, 3L Loyola University New Orleans College of Law
  • John Van Buskirk, 3L University of North Texas Dallas College of Law
  • Monica Valencia, 3L University of San Francisco School of Law   

2016 Regional Public Interest Award

The Regional Public Interest Awards recognize exceptional work within the law school community by a law student or law student project. 

  • Dana Mangiacapra,Touro Law Center
  • Michael Papson, Touro Law Center
  • Frances Davila, NYU School of Law
  • Jenny Thoma, West Virginia University College of Law
  • Patrick Higgins, University of Cincinnati College of Law
  • Jordan Thompson, Cumberland School of Law, Samford University
  • Nubia Pena, University of Utah SJ Quinney College of Law 
  • Berenice Medllin, University of Texas School of Law
  • Catherine Recinos, UCLA School of Law


Exemplary Public Service Award

The Exemplary Public Service Award recognizes exceptional work within the law school community by a law student or law student project. 

  • 2010: Jessica Hope Stein, University of Connecticut Law School
    The Suspension Representation Project, New York University School of Law, Brooklyn Law School, CUNY School of Law, Fordham Law School and Pace Law School
  • 2009: Scott Burrill, University of Iowa College of Law '10
    Voters' Rights Group, Rutgers School of Law - Camden
  • 2008: Caroline Hsu, Fordham Law School ’09
    The Society for Restorative Justice, Northeastern University School of Law
  • 2007: Reena Arora, New York University School of Law ’08
    Gavan Meehan, University of Connecticut School of Law ’07
  • 2006: Student Hurricane Network
  • 2005: Alexander Saingchin, Rutgers School of Law-Newark ’06
  • 2004: Loren G. Stewart, University of Pennsylvania Law School ’05
    Tiffani Lennon, University of Denver College of Law ’04
  • 2003: Sarah Alvarez, Columbia University School of Law ’04
    Emily Benfer, Indiana University School of Law-Indianapolis ’05
  • 2002: Allison Gill, Northeastern University School of Law ’03
    Diego Cartagena, University of California Los Angeles School of Law ’03