State LRAP Programs and Contacts

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Created and administered by bar associations, bar foundations, independent nonprofit organizations and state education administrations, 23 states offer loan repayment assistance programs, providing financial aid to public interest lawyers.

The American Bar Association in collaboration with Kelly Carmody of Carmody and Associates maintains a listing of statewide LRAPs. Equal Justice Works thanks the ABA and Kelly Carmody for this information. There are twenty-three statewide loan repayment assistance programs:

ARIZONA
Lara Slifko
4201 N. 24th St., Suite 210
Phoenix, AZ 85016
602-340-7235
602-271-4930 (FAX)
Email: lara.slifko@azflse.org
Website: www.azflse.org
 DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
Claudia Withers
District of Columbia Bar Foundation
1615 L Street NW, Ste. 850
Washington DC 20036-5622
202-467-3750
202-467-3753 (FAX)
Email: withers@dcbarfoundation.org
Website: www.dcbarfoundation.org
  
FLORIDA
Paul Doyle
The Florida Bar Foundation
109 East Church Street
Orlando, FL 32801
407-843-0045 (FL 800-541-2195)
407-839-0287 (FAX)
Email: PDoyle@flabarfndn.org
Website: www.flabarfndn.org
 

INDIANA
Michael Tranovich
Indiana Bar Foundation
230 E. Ohio St.
Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-269-2415
317-269-2420 (FAX)
Email: mtranovich@inbf.org
Website: www.inbf.org

  
IOWA
Brett Toresdahl
Iowa State Bar Public Service Project
521 E. Locust, Suite 302
Des Moines, IA 50309
515-244-8617
515-244-8845 (FAX)
Email: isbaflp@dwx.com
Website: www.isba.org
 
 

KENTUCKY
Elaine Brumback
The Student Loan People
P.O. Box 24266
Louisville, KY 40224-0266
502-696-7278
Email: ebrumback@kheaa.com
Website: www.thestudentloanpeople.org

  
LOUISIANA
Kevin Murphy
Louisiana Bar Foundation
601 Saint Charles Avenue, 3rd Floor
New Orleans, LA 70130
504-561-1046
(504) 566-1926 (FAX)
Email: Kevin@raisingthebar.org
Website: www.raisingthebar.org
 
 MAINE
M. Calien Lewis
Maine Bar Foundation
40 Water Street, 1st Floor
Hallowell, ME 04347
207-622-3477
207-623-4140
Email: clewis@mbf.org
Website: www.mbf.org/
  
MARYLAND
Tamika McKelvin
Janet L. Hoffman Loan Assistance Repayment Program (LARP)
Office of Student Financial Assistance
Maryland Higher Education Commission
State Scholarship Administration
839 Bestgate Road, Suite 400
Annapolis, MD 21401-1781
410-260-4569 or 800-974-1024
Email: tmckelvi@mhec.state.md.us
Website: www.mhec.state.md.us
 
 MASSACHUSETTS
Lonnie Powers
Massachusetts Legal Assistance Corporation
11 Beacon Street, Suite 820
Boston, MA 02108-3009
617-367-1414
617-367-8815 (fAX)
Email: lpowers@mlac.org
Website: www.mlac.org
  
MINNESOTA
Heather Rastorfer Vlieger
Loan Repayment Assistance Program of MN (LRAP-MN)
600 Nicollet Mall, Ste 380
Minneapolis, MN 55402
612-278-6315
612-333-4927 (FAX)
Email: HeatherRV@statebar.gen.mn.us
Website: www.lrapmn.org
 
 MISSOURI
Steve Murrell
Missouri Bar Foundation/Missouri Bar Association
PO Box 119
Jefferson City, MO 65102
573-638-2240
573-635-2811 (FAX)
Email: smurrell@mobar.org
Website: http://mobar.org/lrap/index.htm
  
MONTANA
Amy L. Sings in the Timber
Montana Justice Foundation
PO Box 6169
Missoula, MT 59807-9169
406-523-3920
406-728-7416 (FAX)
Email: asings@mtjustice.org
Website: www.montanabar.org
 
 NEW HAMPSHIRE
David Snyder
New Hampshire Bar Foundation
112 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-2931
603-224-6942
603-224-2910 (FAX)
Email: dsnyder@nhbar.org
Website: www.nhbar.org/
  
NEW MEXICO
Tashina Banks Moore
New Mexico Higher Education Department
1068 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87505-1650
505-476-6549
505-476-6511 (fax)
Email: Tashina.banks-moore@state.nm.us
Website: http://fin.hed.state.nm.us/
 
 NEW YORK
Gloria Herron Arthur
New York State Bar Association
One Elk Street
Albany, NY 12207
518-487-5640
518-487-5694 (FAX)
Email: garthur@nysba.org
Website: http://www.nysba.org/slapi
  
NORTH CAROLINA
Esther Hall
North Carolina Legal Education Assistance Fund
6070- J Six Forks Road
Raleigh, North Carolina 27615
919-845-6089
919-848-9259 (FAX)
Email: ehall@ncleaf.org
Website: http://www.ncleaf.org
 
 OHIO
Chuck Cook
Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation
10 West Broad Street, Suite 950
Columbus OH 43215
614-728-5396
614-728-3749 (FAX)
Email: ccook@olaf.org
Website: www.olaf.org
  
OREGON
Cathy Petrecca
Oregon State Bar
16037 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road
P.O. Box 231935 Tigard, Oregon 97281-1935
503-431-6355
503-684-1366 (FAX)
Email: cpetrecca@osbar.org
Website: www.osbar.org
 
 SOUTH CAROLINA
Shannon Scruggs
South Carolina Bar Foundation
PO Box 608
Columbia, SC 29202-0608
803-799-6653
803-799-4118 (FAX)
Email: shannon.scruggs@scbar.org
Website: www.scbar.org
  
TEXAS
Lisa Melton
Special Projects Manager
Texas Access to Justice Foundation
P.O. Box 12886
Austin, Texas 78711
281 785 5759
Email: ldmelton@teajf.org
Website: www.teajf.org
 
 VERMONT
Deborah Bailey
Vermont Bar Foundation
PO Box 1170
Montpelier, VT 05601-1170
802-223-1400
Email: dbailey@vtbarfndn.org
Website: www.vtbarfndn.org
  
WASHINGTON
Paula Littlewood
Deputy Director
Washington State Bar Association
206-239-2120
206-727-8319 (FAX)
Email: PaulaL@wsba.org
Website: www.wsba.org
    

 

Program Characteristics: Almost all state loan repayment assistance programs (LRAPs) require recipients to be practicing law in “qualifying employment” within the state. Characteristics of state LRAPs vary, but definitions of “qualifying employment” in all states include civil legal aid and in some states include public defense, prosecution and other government and nonprofit legal organization work.

© 2014 Equal Justice Works - 1730 M Street, NW, Suite 1010, Washington, DC 20036-4511