2025 Design-Your-Own Fellowship Applications are Open

Learn More & Apply

Law Students

National Advisory Committee

Do you wish to expand public interest opportunities on law campuses across the country? Join the Equal Justice Works National Advisory Committee to help bridge the gap between law school and the public interest field.

The National Advisory Committee (NAC) is made up of eight law students and eight law school professionals who conduct outreach and provide feedback and advice on our programs and initiatives. NAC Members serve two-year staggered terms and new members are selected each spring.

As a NAC member, you will be responsible for:
  • Building relationships with law students and law school professionals within your assigned region
  • Promoting public interest opportunities and resources
  • Visiting and speaking at regional law schools
  • Reporting back to Equal Justice Works on public interest law issues, news, and events
  • Assisting with the annual Conference and Career Fair held every October held in Washington, D.C.
  • Assisting with the design, implementation and evaluation of select initiatives including the Student Representative program and the Regional Public Interest Awards

Application Timeline

  • Application Open: April 16, 2024
  • Application Close: May 16, 2024
  • Members selected: June 1, 2024
  • All Applicants Notified: June 20, 2024

2024-2026 National Advisory Committee Openings

Law Students
  • Mid-Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA)
  • Gulf (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, PR)
  • Midwest (IL, IN, MI, MN, OH)
  • Southwest (AR, AZ, NM, NV, OK, TX)
  • Pacific (AK, CA, HI, OR, WA)
Law School Professionals
  • Mid-Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA)
  • Gulf (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, PR)
  • Southwest (AR, AZ, NM, NV, OK, TX)
  • Pacific (AK, CA, HI, OR, WA)

Applications now closed

The NAC application for 2024-2026 members is now closed. Please check back again next year for another chance to apply!

National Advisory Committee Members

Law Students

  • Leslie Espiricueta
    St. Mary's University School of Law
  • Kelsey Gunvalson
    University of Wisconsin Law School
  • Nicole Jansma
    Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • Christopher Kloth
    Barry University Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law
  • Bruce Leal
    American University Washington College of Law
  • Louis Lin
    Harvard Law School
  • Desiree Robedeaux
    University of California, Hastings College of Law
  • Nick Weinrib
    Elon University School of Law

Law School Professionals

  • Claire Abely
    Boston University School of Law
  • Elizabeth Boe
    DePaul University College of Law
  • April Giancola
    Campbell University, Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law
  • Marni Lennon
    University of Miami School of Law
  • Sofia Parino
    University of California, Davis School of Law
  • Merceā€™de Savala
    Washington University in St. Louis School of Law
  • Miguel Willis
    University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School

Receive updates about the National Advisory Committee

I joined the NAC to share ways that students can impact the public interest sphere and serve underrepresented communities.

Kelsey Gunvalson /
2023-2025 National Advisory Committee Member