Equal Justice Works Announces 2019 Regional Public Interest Award Winners

/ Press Release

Equal Justice Works, the nation’s largest facilitator of opportunities in public interest law, today announced its 2019 Regional Public Interest Award recipients. Each year, the Equal Justice Works National Advisory Committee honors eight law students who have demonstrated commitment to public interest law and pro bono work.

Chosen for their innovation and impact, each of the students selected is recognized for providing outstanding service through law clinics, volunteer work, internships, extracurricular projects, and more. The 2019 Regional Public Interest Award recipients include:

Allie Cabibbo
St. Johns University School of Law
Northeast Region

Catharine Grainge
Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law
Mid-Atlantic Region

Elisabeth Hieber
Chicago-Kent College of Law
Midwest Region

Jilisa Milton
University of Alabama School of Law
Gulf Region

Megan Mitchell
Vanderbilt Law School
South Region

Lucia Ornelas
University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Mountain Region

Sasha Novis
UCLA School of Law
Pacific Region

Denali Wilson
University of New Mexico School of Law
Southwest Region

“We are proud to recognize these eight exceptional law students with the Regional Public Interest Award,” says Aoife Delargy Lowe, director of law school engagement and advocacy at Equal Justice Works. “As an organization founded by law students, we have always valued students’ passion for and commitment to public interest work.”

Recipients will be presented with a commemorative plaque and a monetary reward of $250.

If you would like more information on how you can serve on your campus, please contact

Learn more about becoming an Equal Justice Works Fellow